The Jake Jones Memorial Scholarship

for the Learning Disabled

This scholarship was established in 1995 by the family of Jake Jones and the community of Claude for learning disabled graduating seniors in the Texas Panhandle.


  • Graduating seniors from the 26 northernmost counties of the Texas Panhandle who have a documented learning disability
  • Exhibit integrity, ambition, good moral character and a strong desire to achieve a higher level of education
  • Demonstrate the ability to overcome obstacles caused by the learning disability
  • Demonstrate a high standard of values, such as loyalty to friends, family, and faith
  • Cumulative High School GPA of 2.5 or higher
  • Major in field of choice at a Texas college/university of choice

Scholarship Amount

  • Typically $500 per semester for 2 semesters
  • One time award


  • Amarillo Area Foundation (AAF) General Scholarship Application online at
  • Applications must be accompanied by a detailed letter from your special education teacher/coordinator, counselor, or doctor that clearly identifies your documented learning disability and how your integrity, ambition, and good character have enabled you to overcome the obstacles associated with your documented learning disability.  You will also have to submit a personal letter or essay that tells the scholarship selection committee the struggles you have faced with having a learning disability, how you have worked to overcome obstacles caused by the learning disability, and how family, friends, and faith have aided you in the process.  You must also address your commitment to achieve a higher level of education

Award Selection

  • AAF Scholarship Screening Committee

Apply Now

General Scholarship Application