Texas Convening

August 29-30, 2012

Amarillo, Texas


Click here to register




Wednesday, August 29


 12:30 p.m.  Buses depart hotels for Palo Duro Canyon Mack Dick Group Pavilion  


1:30 p.m.    Welcome guests Charlotte Rhodes, AAF, Vice President

                         of Regional Services, Amarillo, TX


1:45 p.m.    Session I – The State of and Future Predictions

                          for Public Education Funding in Texas

                    Panel Presentation and Discussion:

                         •   Texas Senator Kel Seliger, Amarillo, TX

                         •   Texas Representative John Smithee, Amarillo, TX

                         •   Texas Representative Four Price, Amarillo, TX

                         •   Panel Moderator:  John Fitzpatrick, Director, Educate Texas,

                                 Communities Foundation of Texas, Dallas, TX


3:15 p.m.    Break


3:30 p.m.    Session II – Connecting Funders, State Agencies

                         and Measures for Success

                    Panel Presentation and Discussion:

                         •   George Grainger, Houston Endowment, Houston TX

                         •   Raymund Paredes, Commissioner, Texas Higher Education

                                 Coordinating Board, Austin, TX

                         •   Dr. Marcus Martin, CEO, 2M Research Services LLC,

                                 Cedar Hill, TX

                         •   Panel Moderator:  David Dodson, President, MDC  Durham, NC


5:00 p.m.    Session III – The Marriage of Economic

                         Development and Educational Attainment

                    Panel Presentation and Discussion:

                         •   Buzz David, CEO, Amarillo Economic Development Corporation,

                                 Amarillo, TX

                         •   Dr. Paul Matney, President, Amarillo College

                         •   Ted Howard, Steven Minter Fellow for Social Justice, The Cleveland

                                 Foundation, and Co-Founder/Executive Director of The Democracy

                                Collaborative Foundation, Inc., Takoma Park, MD and Cleveland, OH

                         •   Panel Moderator:  Angela Lust, Senior Vice President, Amarillo Area

                                 Foundation, Amarillo, TX


6:15 p.m.    Depart for Lazy L3 Ranch on rim of Palo Duro Canyon

                   Cowboy dinner and networking

                              Catering: Coors Cowboy Club

                             Entertainment:  Ed Montana

                             Hosts:  Sharon and Larry Oeschger and

                                 Amarillo Partners for Postsecondary Success


8:30 p.m.    Depart Palo Duro Canyon for 30-minute trip to hotels


Thursday, August 30


8:00 a.m.    Buses depart hotels for Amarillo Country Club

                   Continental Breakfast – Welcome – Charlotte Rhodes


8:30 a.m.    Session IV – Texas Minute at the Mic for Postsecondary Grantees

                         •   Educate Texas representative

                         •   Completion by Design – Lone Star College System representative

                         •   T-STEM representative

                         •   Early College High School representative

                         •   Western Governor’s University representative

                         •   Partners for Postsecondary Success representatives – Brownsville, Amarillo

                         •   Facilitator:  Katharyn Wiegand, Senior Project Director, Amarillo Area Foundation,

                                 Amarillo, TX


9:00 a.m.    Session V – Building Collective Impact for Large-scale Change

                          •   STRIVE:  Bob Wimpelberg, Executive Director, Kids Alliance, Houston, TX

                         •   Don Baylor, Senior Policy Analyst, Opportunity Texas, Austin, TX

                         •   Susan Dawson, E3 Alliance, Austin,TX

                         •   Anette Carlisle, Director, Panhandle Twenty/20,

                                 President Amarillo ISD Board of Trustees, Amarillo, TX

                         •   Panel Moderator:  Bonnie Gordon, Senior Project Director, MDC, Durham, NC


10:30 a.m.  Break


10:45 A.m.  Session VI – Engagement of Partners to Address the Completion Crisis

                         •   Jonathan Durfield, Associate Vice Chancellor, Government Affairs,  Lone Star College 

                                 System - Completion by Design, Houston , TX

                         •   Dr. James Hallmark, Vice Chancellor, Texas A&M System, College Station, TX

                         •   Irv Downing, Vice President of Institutional Development, University of Texas, Brownsville

                         •   Mark Milliron, Chancellor, Western Governor’s University, Austin, TX

                         •   Rod Schroder, Superintendent, Amarillo ISD, Amarillo, TX

                         •   Panel Moderator:  Traci Wickett, President and CEO, United Way of Southern Cameron  

                                 County, Brownsville, TX


12:15 p.m.  Funders Lunch • Session VII – Successful Strategies for Sustainable Programs

                         •   Judy Day, CEO, Mary E. Bivins Foundation, Amarillo, TX

                         •   Bruce Esterline, Vice President for Grants, Meadows Foundation, Dallas, TX

                         •   Jacob Fraire, Vice President for Student and International Success, Texas Guaranteed (TG),

                                 Austin, TX

                         •   Panel Moderator:  Clay Stribling, President & CEO, Amarillo Area Foundation and The

                                 Don and Sybil Harrington Foundation, Amarillo, TX


1:30 p.m.    Session VIII – Moving Forward on Common Ground

                   Open Discussion, Evaluation and Action Plans

                         •   Facilitator, Dr. Russell Lowery-Hart, Vice President of Academic Affairs,

                                 Amarillo College, Amarillo, TX


2:40 p.m.    Buses depart for airport or hotels